Officially Graduated!

It’s been more than a month since I graduated from college! I’m now officially unemployed, yikes. I hate the sound of it – but you know what irks me more? The haunting question, “So, what are your plans now?” Kidding. Not really. Anyway, this post isn’t about the stress and pressure that comes along with graduating – instead, I want to shine light on the good side of it!

 

frens.png
A cheesy picture of me and my friends in front of the school building! (photo: Echo Ortiz)

If you didn’t know, I took up Multimedia Arts at De La Salle – College of Saint Benilde. I met a lot different kinds of people in there; I met great professors, I met lazy ones, I met friendly people, I met snobby ones. You know, it’s not much different than any other school. My stay was lovely, though – and if I had to do it all over again, I think I’m still gonna pick the same.

frens4.png
Some of my first ever friends in college! (photo: Gosh Mangampat)

After three and a half years – It’s finally over! The last couple of terms were hellish, to say the least, but they were memorable. Benilde opened a lot of doors for me and for that I am eternally grateful.

I graduated July 1, 2017 at the PICC. Oh, a very quick and funny story: I was almost late. I was so close to missing the processional! I woke up around 5, took a bath, and did my make up – but halfway through, I didn’t like the look of it on my face so I had to re-do everything. Good thing the venue is only less than an hour away from our house. Whew.

grad.jpg
Here’s a photo of me and my mom. I love her to bits.

For me the highlight of the day was hearing my name get called followed by “Honourable Mention”. It’s not like it was a surprise since I already found out days before – but to hear it on the big day itself made it official, you know what I mean? It dissolved all my worries and it felt like everything I did paid off. The all nighters, the breakdowns. I never really thought I would be able to do it. In fact, in high school, as long as I was getting passing remarks, I was content. So, I’m really glad that I passed my personal expectations for myself in college.

ss.png

Aw, also, my mom got me a bouquet of Ferrero Rochers! Isn’t it cute? She recalled how she wanted to get me real flowers but my older sister suggested to get me an edible bouquet instead. It’s one of my favorite chocolates, so that was really sweet of them.

After the ceremony, we stayed at the venue for almost an hour more so my friends and I could get pictures. It was heartwarming to see all the families get together. During that time, it really dawned on me that school’s really over for us. We’re full-fledged adults now.

Hello, real world! We’re babies at heart, so please be kind to us.

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

