30-Day Book Challenge | Day 8-14

Hi, I’m back for the second part of my 30-day book challenge! If you haven’t seen the first part, which is days 1-7, click here. I know I published this a day late but I was out the whole day yesterday celebrating Mother’s Day with my family! Belated Happy Mother’s Day to all mothers out there!

Anyway, below I talked about the books I regretted purchasing and if you want to know more, read on :p

30book2.jpg

Day 8 – Most Overrated Book

Please don’t hate me for this but I think the most overrated book that I’ve read is The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I loved that book and that that plot tore me into pieces but, yeah, I think it’s definitely overrated. It’s TFIOS or Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James (yes – I read it in high school, don’t judge me) for me.

Day 9 – A Book That You Thought You Wouldn’t Like but Ended Up Loving

If there’s a book that I never thought I would end up loving, it would be The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider. My first impression of it was cheesy but I enjoyed reading this book and I guess, that’s what matters.

Day 10 – A Book That Reminds You of Home

This one’s tough. The first thing that popped into mind was the Holy Bible – just because I was brought up by a very spiritual and religious mom but if we’re talking about some kind of novel, it’s got to be The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry.

Day 11 – A book you hated

I have two books I absolutely disliked! The first one is Follow Your Heart: Summer Love by Jill Santipolo. This is probably the cringiest book that I’ve ever tried to read. Yes, tried because I basically just forced myself to read it just so I could move on. I thought it wouldn’t be that bad because it’s a choose-your-own-adventure type of book, a genre I highly enjoyed in my child hood but boy was I wrong, so wrong. The whole thing just felt desperate. The second book that I regret reading slash spending money on is Sandy Hall’s A Little Something Different. It’s a novel with different view points but it just didn’t work for me, lol. I kept muttering “what the fuck is going on?” while reading! Spoiler: one POV is from a squirrel. Yes, you read that right.

Day 12 – A Book you love but hate at the same time

I’d have to say Doomed by Chuck Pahlaniuk. I know this is quite early for me to say seeing that I still haven’t finished it yet, but I just don’t like it as much as I liked its prequel. It felt a little too forced, which is sad because I really enjoyed its Damned 😦 Most of the POVs are still from sarcastic 13-year old Maddie Spencer but it just feels different, if you know what I mean. I have a love/hate relationship with it at the moment but I do hope the former will prevail once I finish this book.

Day 13 – Your favorite writer

I’m not fond of picking favorites but it’s either J.K. Rowling and George R. R. Martin – both authors opened majestic new worlds to me that I wouldn’t have been able to imagine on my own. Just, wow.

Day 14 – Book turned into movie and completely desecrated

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. When I was reading it years ago, I imagined it with totally eerie vibes. I couldn’t even look at some of the pictures in the book because it gave me the heebie-jeebies. The movie was the total opposite! They made it more friendly, which isn’t really that bad. It’s just so far from what I thought it would be.

If you want to do this challenge, feel free to do so! Also, if you know who really started this challenge, let me know so we can give him/her the proper credit 😉

P.S. I don’t own the book cover images! Credits go to its respectful owners and artists.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

