30-Day Book Challenge | Day 1-7

Hello! I’ve been seeing this challenge floating around Twitter lately so I decided to give it a try. This reminds me of Tumblr circa 2013, maybe? You know, when everyone – and I mean, everyone – is doing some kind of challenge. Books, movies, even selfies. I was never able to complete one, so fingers crossed! (Let’s hope I’ve managed to learn how to stick to what I say, grr)

Anyway, I decided to do this in parts. I just think it’s easier and more practical. So, without further ado here are Days 1-7!

30book

Day 1 – Best Book You’ve Read Last Year 

I was only able to read several books last year so I don’t really have much options, but I think it’s got to be The Cursed Child. I know a lot of people didn’t like it, but it was such an easy read and it brought back so much memories!

Day 2 – A Book That You’ve Read More Than 3 Times

I’m not gonna lie, here’s the thing: I don’t have enough patience to re-read an entire book no matter how much I love it but given the chance, I’d love to read the entire A Song of Ice and Fire all over again.

Day 3 – Your Favorite Series

It’s got to be a tie between the Harry Potter series and A Song of Ice and Fire. However, since the Harry Potter series reminds me of magic, witches, and nights spent sneaking to read – I think it wins this time.

Day 4 – Favorite Book of Your Favorite Series

It took me some time to decide which one’s my favorite but I’m 95% sure it’s The Half-Blood Prince. I remember having to pause every once in a while to contemplate what I just read… and that reveal! Come on, you have to admit, this book’s one hell of a ride.

Day 5 – A Book That Makes You Happy

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini. I found it very inspiring and uplifting in the end. The approach regarding mental health was positive – it teaches its readers that there’s always hope. I’m sorry that I have to compare it to Thirteen Reasons Why but It’s Kind of a Funny Story was like a warm hug unlike the former which just cut me to the bone.

Day 6 – A Book That Makes You Sad

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer is the book that made me sad. It made me cry countless of times – I remember trying to hold my tears and terribly failing. A lot of people think it’s gimmicky because of the pictures, but you know what, to each his own.

Day 7 – A Book That Makes You Laugh

I’ve read numerous books that made me laugh but the one that instantly popped into my mind was Chuck Palahniuk’s Damned. Its POV is by 13 year-old Maddie Spencer, a girl stuck in hell. It’s full of sarcasm and somewhat dark humor. I love it. A lot of Palahniuk fans didn’t enjoy this but it’s the first book I read written by him –  and I have to say, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m currently reading Doomed, which is the sequel of Damned!

That’s about it! I’ll publish the second part next week. If you want to do this challenge, feel free to do so! Also, if you know who really started this challenge, let me know so we can give him/her the proper credit 😉

P.S. I don’t own the book cover images! Credits go to its respectful owners and artists.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

