Life Update: January & February 2017

It’s been a while since my last blog entry so I decided to write a life update. In all honesty, I’ve been a busy bee. My, oh my. Juggling school, internship, freelance, and my personal life altogether is a handful! I’m currently on my last term in college and I wish I could tell you that I’m making my stay as worthwhile as possible, but sadly, that’s not the case. Instead, here I am drowning in all sorts of deadlines.

Anyway, let’s talk about my schooling! As I’ve mentioned a few moments ago, I’m currently on my last term in college. I’m quite sad about it as I enjoyed going to school even though it meant waking up at the wee hours of the morning. I’m going to miss grabbing coffee on my way to my building, bumping into previous blockmates along the hallways, and the never-changing, I never thought I’d say this, cafeteria food. Looking at my previous photos, I can see that I’ve changed a lot. From sporting bright-coloured tips to cutting my hair short and dyeing it a darker shade; from meeting a bunch of people to keeping a small number of trustworthy ones. The list goes on. It’s amazing how going to college changes you (literally gained 20 pounds, thanks Benilde) – and while I can’t gauge whether I became a better person, I’m proud to say that I know make better choices now… So I guess, that’s a good start!

img_2784

On my internship. I’m currently interning at Status Magazine. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s an online youth-culture magazine based in the Philippines. If you’re interested, here are their links: Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Issuu (this is where they upload their online issues). It’s been alright, so far. I usually grab a cup of coffee from the nearest Family Mart on my way to the office to officially start my day. I’m mainly tasked on providing collaterals for their social media pages and making article layouts for their online issues. It’s an 8-hour shift, excluding the break, so it’s not so bad. On a normal day, I get home right after dinner but by then, I’m so exhausted to even function. The hardest part for me is dealing with art block, sometimes I still have to squeeze my brain even though I know for a fact that I’m totally, creatively, empty. Other than that, I’d like to say I’m doing fine.

On my personal life. The truth is, I welcomed 2017 with a heavy heart. I know that sounds so emo but that’s the truth; and I want to be as honest on here as possible. The main reason I haven’t updated in a while is because I couldn’t find something worthy to write about. When I started this blog, I promised myself to ditch the pessimism and only focus on the happy moments of my life. Andbutso, seeing that I’m in a situation where I felt like everything was going downhill, I couldn’t muster up the courage to write and pretend that everything’s fine. I could be having fun with friends but I could still feel the negativity lingering at the back of my head. It’s frustrating.

Of course, 2017 wasn’t all bad. For one, I got to meet one of my old friends again, Alleine. I haven’t seen her in years since she moved to New Zealand and it was quite heartwarming to hang out and laugh with her again. I also got to babysit my cousin’s son, Birkan, for a couple of days! He lit up everyone’s spirits at home, that precious little kid.

I guess what’s important is that I’m feeling so much better now. I’m quite pleased that I managed to keep myself afloat despite my personal issues. I still feel on edge every now and then but for the most part, I feel better.

Truthfully, I’m quite embarrassed how emotional this post ended up being, but, meh, c’est la vie.

Leave a Reply

