Happy New Year!

a

Before anything else, Happy new year! 

2016 went by so fast. I think a lot of us can agree that the year 2016 was pretty terrible, yes? I don’t know about you, but it felt like it sucked all the remaining optimism out of me. If I were to describe 2016 in three words it would be stressful, challenging, and… eye-opening. We made fun of Kylie Jenner for saying that 2016 was the year for realizing stuff but you know what, she’s definitely not that wrong. I realized a bunch of important things last year and most of it are very personal.

The last couple of months of 2016 were too rough for me, to the point that looking back at it now still makes me a little anxious. It just wasn’t good time, period. Physically and emotionally exhausted, I decided to take a break from social media – and you know what? I loved it. I was able to do all the things I wanted in my own space and pace. During those times, I realized I didn’t care about Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and Snapchat as much as I thought I did. Surprisingly enough, I didn’t even crave it. But alas, all good things must come to an end. Kidding. I know I can’t be disconnected to the internet world forever so I’m slowly becoming more active again to take care of some things.

A new year is a fresh start and as cliché as that sounds we all know it’s true. Despite everything that happened, I can’t just ignore the fact that 2016 was also full of blessings and growth. I’m still grateful. If you also had a rough time last year, I hope we can all just look at 2017 with optimism as a time to start things over 🙂 

 

 

Leave a Reply

